Bulls Gap, Tenn. (Jul 20) The staff at Volunteer Speedway tried and tried, but persistent rain won out tonight, July 19 at the high-banked Bulls Gap, Tennessee oval. With 26 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series competitors signed in to do battle in the $4,053 to win event, a group of cars were on the racetrack for their hot lap session when another round of inclement weather hit the facility. The decision was finally made by track and series officials to cancel tonight’s show and postpone it to Sunday, August 1. With the reschedule date falling after the points finale the night prior at the nearby Tazewell (TN) Speedway, all drivers were awarded 50 show up points tonight and the August 1 race will be non-points.
The Super Late Model entrants in the pit area tonight at Volunteer Speedway included: Benjamin Cranford, Garrett Smith, Chuck Southard, Jensen Ford, Dusty Carver, Richie Edwards, Donald McIntosh, Stacy Boles, Michael Chilton, Ryan King, Ahnna Parkhurst, Michael Brown, Jordy Nipper, Kenny Collins, John Llewellyn, Dale McDowell, Dakotah Knuckles, Vic Hill, Ross Bailes, Kaede Loudy, Andy Standridge, Troy Eades, Clint Hodges, Jeff Neubert, Cody Overton, and Kyle Strickler.
Action with the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series will now shift to I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, Tennessee on Tuesday, July 20. Another $4,053 payday will be up for grabs tomorrow evening at the newly-reconfigured racetrack. Cory Hedgecock came out on top of the lone series stop to I-75 Raceway, as he won $3,500 last year over a top five that included runner-up Chris Madden, Brandon Overton, Donald McIntosh, and Ryan King. Pits/tier parking open at 3:00pm while the grandstands open at 5:00pm. The Drivers Meeting will be held at 6:30pm and Hot Laps will take to the track at 7:00pm. More information on the visit to I-75 Raceway can be accessed online at www.i75raceway.com.
Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Point Standings:
1) Donald McIntosh – 242
2) Jensen Ford – 240
3) Cody Overton [R] – 236
4) Ross Bailes – 232
5) Ahnna Parkhurst – 228
6) Stacy Boles – 226
7) Benjamin Cranford [R] – 224
8) Andy Standridge – 222
9) Jeff Neubert – 220
10) Michael Brown – 218
11) Garrett Smith [R] – 210
12) Jordy Nipper – 208
13) Dale McDowell – 206
14) Josh Rice – 200
15) Zack Dohm – 196
Media Contact: Ryan Delph – Delph Communications